## NPSD Charter Governance Regular Board Meeting Minutes August 13, 2020

The regular meeting of the NPSD Charter Governance Board, Ltd. was called to order by Betty Wright at eight o' four a.m. (8:04 a.m.) on Thursday, August 13, 2020, at St. Germain Elementary/NPMLC in the Principal's office. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited. Present were Board members: Betty Wright (via Google Meet), Emilie Braunel (via Google Meet), Jennifer Jefferson (via Google Meet), Cheryl Todea (via Google Meet) and Laura Rozga (via phone). Quorum was established. Also present were Tony Duffek, St. Germain Elementary and NPMLC Principal, Carie Brock, Land O' Lakes Elementary and SOAR MS Principal (via Google Meet,) Ann Perry, Lead Teacher SOAR HS (via Google Meet), and recording secretary, Michele Hotmar.

**Open Meeting Verification** – Betty Wright stated that the meeting had been duly called with meeting notices posted at the following locations:

- 1. The Northland Pines High School and Middle School in Eagle River
- 2. The Northland Pines Elementary Schools in Eagle River, Land O' Lakes and St. Germain
- 3. The Vilas County Courthouse Eagle River
- 4. The Eagle River City Hall
- 5. The Vilas County News Review-Eagle River

**Approval of Agenda** – MOTION by Emilie Braunel that the Board approves the agenda as presented and leaves the order to the discretion of the Chair. Second by Cheryl Toda. Voice vote 5-0. Motion carried.

Public Participation – There were no citizen comments.

**Minutes of Past Meetings** – MOTION by Betty Wright that the Board dispenses with the reading of the Annual Board Meeting Minutes of July 16, 2020 and the Board approves the minutes as presented. Second by Laura Rozga. Voice vote 5-0. Motion carried.

## **Board Communication** – None

Administrative Report: Tony Duffek - NPMLC: Written report Carie Brock - SOAR MS: Written report Ann Perry – SOAR HS: Written report

**Finance Update:** Schools presented their current budgets and expenditures and how expenditures may have operated a little differently due to COVID19 the last third of the year.

## Discussion/Action items:

11a) Election of Officers: Laura Rozga nominated Emily Braunel, President, there were no other nominations. Emily Braunel accepted nomination. MOTION by Betty Wright to close nominations and cast ballot for Emilie Braunel as President. Voice vote: 5-0, motion carried. Emilie Braunel nominated Jennifer Jefferson, Vice-President, there were no other nominations. Jennifer Jefferson accepted nomination. MOTION by Betty Wright to close nominations and cast ballot for Jennifer Jefferson as Vice-President. Voice vote: 5-0, motion carried. Jennifer Jefferson nominated Cheryl Todea, Secretary, there were no other nominations. Cheryl Toda accepted nomination. MOTION by Betty Wright to close nominations and cast ballot for Cheryl Toda as Secretary. Voice vote: 5-0, motion carried. Cheryl Toda nominated Betty Wright, Treasurer, there were no other nominations. Betty Wright accepted nomination. MOTION by Betty Wright to close nominations. MOTION by Betty Wright accepted nomination.

**11b) 2020-2021 School Year Planning:** Return to learn handout that was sent to all families was shared with the Board.

11c) 2020-2021 Goal and Dashboard Planning: Bring to next meeting for the Board.

**11d) Discuss waiving the PLP Policy for the 2020-2021 school year:** It would not be fair to parents to choose during this time. A lot of parents are torn as what to do. PLP's are going up every day.

**11e) Motion to approve waiving the PLP Policy for the 2020-2021 school year:** MOTION by Laura Rozga to waive the PLP Policy for the 2020-2021 school year. Second by Betty Wright. Voice vote 5-0. Motion carried.

11f) Discuss Housing Board Policies: The Board will decide this at their next meeting.

## 11e) Work Session:

**Adjournment:** MOTION by Cheryl Toda that the Board adjourn. Second by Betty Wright. Voice vote 5-0. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 9:08 a.m.